Geoffrey G. Eichholz Faculty Teaching Award

Printer-friendly versionSend Page by EmailPDF version

This annual award recognizes faculty who provide outstanding teaching to students in core and general education undergraduate courses.  The award recipient(s) will receive $5,000 per year for three years.

Established in 2005 through a gift from School of Mechanical Engineering Regents’ Professor Emeritus Geoffrey Eichholz, the award was created to reward senior faculty members who had made a long-term contribution to introductory undergraduate education and were outstanding teachers for students taking freshman and sophomore core courses.  Recently the award has broadened to recognize faculty at any point in their careers who excel in teaching core and general education courses and who help students establish a solid foundation for their education at Georgia Tech.


  • Nomination packets are due by 5:00 p.m. on the first Monday of February.
  • Awards will be presented at the Faculty/Staff Honors Day Luncheon in April.
  • Names and nomination packets of the award winners will be posted on the CETL Faculty Award website in April.
  • Award winners will also be honored at the New Faculty Orientation Dinner in August.

Eligibility Criteria

  • The primary criteria for this award is excellence in teaching core and general education undergraduate courses.  The goal of the award is to honor faculty who are committed to student learning and who make undergraduate instruction a top priority.
  • There is no restriction on title or rank of individuals who receive this award.  Candidates must be 75% to full-time employees with an on-going appointment who have distinguished themselves over a period of time as accessible teachers who challenge and support students in foundational courses at Georgia Tech.
  • While there is no restriction on the affiliation of the individuals who receive this award, it is expected that the candidates teach core courses that serve all majors at Georgia Tech.

Nomination Process

  • The nomination packet (no more than 15 pages) should be submitted electronically as a MS Word or Adobe PDF file to Joyce Weinsheimer at
  •  The nomination packet should include the following items:
    • Letter of nomination
    • A reflective statement on teaching from the candidate
    • Illustrations of the candidate’s teaching excellence and the impact on student learning.
    • Letters of support from:
  1.  the candidate’s department head or chair (if this person is the nominator, the nomination letter will suffice for this requirement);
  2.  one or two other colleagues, at least one of whom has observed the candidate in the classroom;
  3. Three to five students, at least one of whom must currently be a student at Georgia Tech.

Selection Criteria

  • Teaching excellence in core, general education, and/or introductory undergraduate courses
  • Use of innovative strategies that specifically address the challenges associated with teaching core curriculum, general education concepts, and/or students who are new to higher education
  • Evidence of ability to engage, challenge, and support students
  • Dedication to student success and accessibility to all students, even those who were not performing well in the class
  • Impact on students' lives, both in and beyond the classroom
  • Commitment to undergraduate instruction
  • Good Georgia Tech citizenship


Contact Joyce Weinsheimer at or 404-385-7263.

Previous Winners

Note: Beginning April 2014, the nomination packets of award winners will also be posted below.

Edwin Greco, Physics
Robert Kirkman, Public Policy

Douglas Flamming, History, Technology, and Society
Colin Potts, Interactive Computing

FY 2010
Doron Lubinsky, Mathematics

FY 2009
David Collard, Chemistry and Biochemistry

FY 2008
Carol Colatrella, Literature, Communication, and Culture
Jung Choi, Biology

FY 2007
Ronald Bayor, History, Technology and Society
Evans Harrell II, Mathematics

FY 2006
Gordon Kingsley, Public Policy
Michael Loss, Mathematics